When You Just Don’t Want to Write

When it comes to blogging, we all inevitably find there are those days where we just plain don’t want to write. Even the most seasoned bloggers experience these days. To be honest, I’m writing this blog because I’m having one of those days…

I have a set schedule to keep every week with my blog postings and it is usually fairly easy for me to maintain. But sometimes, you just don’t want to sit and write. There are other distractions and other commitments. There’s always the option of something else you could be doing. Today I have been procrastinating. I played with the dogs, caught up on some DVR, and painted my toe nails. All with the guise of staying away from the computer.

But the reality is I have to write a blog posting. Ugh, fine. I dragged myself to my computer. But then I sat here staring at the screen, easily distracted by Facebook and Twitter notifications. This blog was just not going to happen.

But then, I put my focus in check and started writing. How? Here are my tips for getting focused and writing, even when you just don’t want to.

1. Eliminate Distractions

If you’re going to be distracted by other things online (Facebook, Twitter, email, etc.), close the tabs. Leave only your browser or word processing file open. If there are distractions around your workspace, find a way to quiet them. Turn off the TV, ask your spouse to watch the kids for an hour, close your office door to eliminate uninvited guests from stopping in. Whatever runs the risk of pulling your attention away from your writing, remove it temporarily.

2. Get Comfortable

No one wants to write when they’re uncomfortable. Especially when blogging. You want your post to come across as conversational and relaxed – how can you write with that tone if you’re not feeling that way? Whether it means kicking off your shoes or sitting on the couch instead of at your desk, find what works for you.

3. Find Your Zone

For some people, listening to music is motivating. For others, it’s all about silence. Maybe you like to get your blood flowing with a good workout first. Whatever gets you into the writing zone, do it! Once you’re in the creative zone to write, the words will start flowing.

4. Just Start Writing

You’ll be surprised how much easier it is to write once you have a couple sentences laid out. You may not even keep those first few sentences but at least they get your topic started and get your thoughts flowing. I literally started this blog by writing the first couple paragraphs. As I started, I realized my process was actually worth writing about (I hope you agree – otherwise, maybe I need to re-evaluate!).

5. Use Your Emotions

At any given time, you are feeling a certain way. You may be happy, sad, tired, excited, frustrated, or even bored. Whatever your emotions or feelings, write about something with the same tone. For example, if you’re feeling frustrated, don’t try to write about something overly uplifting. Why? Because your emotions come through in your writing. And writing a happy, encouraging post when you’re not feeling that way will read as disingenuine. So save that happy post for the next writing. Instead write about something that plays off your current mood. Your audience will respect your authentic tone in your writing.

6. Don’t Procrastinate

When you don’t want to write, it’s so easy to push it off. Now, granted, I procrastinated a good portion of today before writing this post. But, I still sat down and did it rather than pushing it off to the next day. The key thing is to sit down and do it. Procrastination leads to rushed writing which produces poor quality posts, or worse still, no writing, which leads to inconsistency and lack of commitment.

So get writing!!

Do you have any tips to help you when you just don’t want to write? Please leave them in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “When You Just Don’t Want to Write

    • Thanks Ashley! Glad you liked the post. Great idea too, to reduce the distractions from research. I’ve done that a few times where I start looking for a stat to support my post and the next thing you know an hour has gone by and I forgot my original intent!

Leave a comment