Unfollowed? Don’t Take It Personally

This post has been moved to: http://jennstrends.com/unfollowed-dont-take-it-personally/ 

Chances are you have lost followers at some point. Anyone on social media has been dumped at some point. But, have you ever lost a follower that surprised you? Or have you been disappointed to find out that you lost a follower that you valued? If you have, it’s ok. It happens to all of us.

But sometimes it can really suck. See, I’m one of those people who is a people-pleaser. It’s a blessing and a curse. I know I work harder for my clients or bosses because I want them to be happy. And that isn’t always a bad thing. But I also tend to take things a little more personally when something goes wrong. I’m trying to get better about seeing the big picture though.

Sure, we all lose followers. When it comes to platforms like Twitter and Instagram, followers come and go almost daily. It’s the nature of the platforms – some accounts are spammers or fakes and they get deactivated; some accounts are just looking to increase their follower numbers and will unfollow you if you don’t follow them back. Even Facebook has those users who only like your page for a promotion or contest and then unfollow you when the event is over. These are expected and I don’t think many of us take these too personally.

And, yes, I’ve even unfollowed people myself. I’m obviously not exempt from this act.

But every now and then, you lose followers that surprise you. People that you talk to online regularly, or at least share “likes” with regularly decide to dump you. Sometimes you may not even know they did. But thanks to analytics and stats tools, sometimes you can’t help but find out.

You can read the rest of this post at: http://jennstrends.com/unfollowed-dont-take-it-personally/

9 thoughts on “Unfollowed? Don’t Take It Personally

    • You’re right, Christopher. The bad usually seems to hit harder than the good. But fortunately for myself, and many others, there is so much good going on, that we can move quickly past the bad.
      I’m glad you enjoyed the post!

  1. It hurts me deeply when I get unfollowed. Sometimes I know why. For instance, I angered someone this week and it happened. It doesn’t hurt any less though when it happens. Totally a people-pleaser, here!

    • We people pleasers have to learn to let it go, Willi. It’s not easy but there are so many other people we are pleasing and we need to focus on them, not the ones who are no longer pleased. Keep being true to you and focus on the good you have going on. You can’t succeed without ruffling a few feathers.

  2. I have to admit that I am totally guilty of taking things personally, while some think of it as only business. While that has its downside (as I am sure you know), there is also an upside. I find that I am more sensitive to how I treat others – my clients, followers, connections, etc. – because of it. I think this gets me more in the long run. The key is to not let your disappointment derail you, but learn to move on and keep trying. As I am sure you will see Jenn, for every few you may lose, you will probably gain more! Take care!

    • That is so true, Kim! And I think that our clients do recognize this in people like us and know that we will do our best to deliver every time, because it is more than “just a job”. And, yes, in the long run, a couple lost fans is always followed by more positive fans!
      Thanks for your continued support, Kim!

  3. Absolutely loved this. I agree, I find I get SO caught up in wanting some people to follow me and then when they do, I start to fear about the content I share or pictures I post, thinking “but what if person x doesn’t want to see my new haircut selfie” or in most cases “my cat with thumbs”. And what if they judge me for having a blog outside of work with book reviews and fangirl rants. And then I realized I was being ridiculous. I’m me – if they don’t like that, maybe they’ll unfollow and that’s ok. And you’re right – I’m just as guilty of it. A single almost 30 year old, while I love my married friends and their kids – for some people with whom I’m not close, at least 3-5 photos a day of their kids will not keep me on their followers list. We’re all guilty of it but at the end of the day, it’s a small blip in the universe and life goes on!

    • Thanks Crystal! I’m so glad you enjoyed this post. Like you said, we are all human, and we all have our likes and preferences. I have unfollowed people for a variety of reasons so I can’t blame others for unfollowing me. You just can’t let it get you down. Just like in real life, if you try too hard to please others, or to be someone you’re not, you end up hurting more people (including yourself) in the long run. Being authentic and true to you is the best way to grow your fan base realistically. It may take a little longer, but the value is there in the long run. Stay positive!

Leave a Reply

