Why Is Your Instagram Profile Private?

This post has been moved to: http://jennstrends.com/why-is-your-instagram-profile-private/

I feel like this is a question I shouldn’t have to ask. And yet, I do. Why? Seriously, why is your Instagram profile set to private? The conversation is the same one I’ve had about Twitter accounts. The key word in social media is “social”. You can’t be social if you’re hiding behind a curtain.

Now, it’s worth noting that I’m not talking about those people who use Instagram for their personal use. If you’re using your account to share photos of your kids with your family and friends and you don’t want strangers seeing these photos, I totally get it! I would keep my account private too, or get a second account. But I’m not talking about these people.

I’m talking about those people who advertise themselves as social media professionals, people who advertise themselves as their business or brand, and people who are recognized as public profiles.

People want to see who you are and what you post. They can’t see that when there’s a giant lock in the middle of the screen. And if they can’t see your photos, they don’t know if they’re going to like your photos. Also, in case you weren’t aware, people aren’t very patient either. They don’t want to wait for you to check your account 3 days from now to approve them as a follower.

You can read the rest of this post at: http://jennstrends.com/why-is-your-instagram-profile-private/

15 thoughts on “Why Is Your Instagram Profile Private?

  1. When I started on Instagram, I actually had one of my students set it to private so that the kids could not get in…but over time, I have now changed it to non private..I have become a public figure being a blogger, so I know they will find me on the net anyhow..The times have changed. Thanks for the post:)

    • Thanks Danielle! Yes, times have changed. Especially for a public profile like yours. People know who you are and are looking for you. So it’s best to make it easy to connect. People appreciate that.

      • Yes, my personal Facebook is very personal. I keep that locked up with restrictions and I actually only accept people that I actually know. I turn down a lot of friend requests because I just want to keep that for personal use. I always explain to people, and they seem to understand. But I need to keep something private in this crazy online world! 🙂

      • So true!! I used to ignore the people I do not know, but I started accepting them because there were so many social media peeps..but i put them all in restricted so they can only see the public view:) Nice meeting you on twitter and now chatting in blogging world or where did we originally start chatting? in a group? lol

      • I’m trying to think back…. I think we connected through a Facebook Fan Page Party first. That was a while ago. Then it’s just evolved from there!

  2. Pingback: Instagram Allows Embedded Posts | Jenn's Trends

  3. Thanks for posting this! I’ve been arguing with myself whether I’m keeping my profile private or not. I’m just scared that someone might hack my account or someone will get jealous and report my pictures. But anyways, thank you! I’m keeping it public now. Such a great read. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Instagram Allows Embedded Posts - Jenn's Trends

Leave a Reply

