How To Write a Blog When You Hate To Write

This post has been moved to: http://jennstrends.com/how-to-write-a-blog-when-you-hate-to-write/

Let’s face it, not many of us are actually gifted writers. Most bloggers aren’t going to win a Pulitzer prize for their writing. And yet, there are millions of bloggers out there. And many of them are actually successful with their blogs. So, if they can succeed at it, why can’t you?

I want to take a minute to digress and tell you a little bit about my blogging journey. This is my 75th blog post. I started writing my blog in January 2013,  literally 5 months ago. In that time I have written 75 blog posts! This is crazy to me! I’ve never described myself as a writer. I did fine in school when it came to writing assignments but I never excelled and was far from one of the best in my class. One of my really good friends, however, she was a very talented writer. And being the perfectionist that I am, I always compared myself to people like her. They were so talented and wrote so eloquently. So, if I couldn’t compare to them, then I just wasn’t meant to write. And that was ok with me. I never had the desire to write a novel or write for a magazine or anything like that.

But then, for some crazy reason, I decided to start a blog. I had no idea what to expect and really had no idea what I was getting myself into. I had read a few blogs over the years but nothing with great regularity. Being the creative, design oriented person that I am, I knew exactly what I wanted my blog to look like. That was the easy part for me. But the writing, that was the hurdle to overcome. How was I going to connect with readers? Who would be interested in reading my posts? Would people actually come back again? What was I going to write about when I ran out of ideas?

To be honest, I got cold feet after a few blog posts. That perfectionist in me reared its ugly head and made me question if I could really do this well enough. Two things happened: one, I silenced my inner perfectionist, and; two, I actually had people reading my blogs and connecting with me. Even though my writing wasn’t perfect (although I think I tried too hard to make it perfect), I was “succeeding”, even if it was in a very small manner.

So, after five months, am I a seasoned blogger with all the answers? Of course not, but I’ve learned a lot and I’m enjoying every day and every post. And here’s what I’ve learned from my experience and from reading hundreds of blogs every week: you don’t need to be a great writer to be a successful blogger.

You can read the rest of this post at: http://jennstrends.com/how-to-write-a-blog-when-you-hate-to-write/

7 thoughts on “How To Write a Blog When You Hate To Write

  1. Once again, your take on blogging makes so much sense. Writing “conversationally” (which is how I describe the way I write, and it is certainly what you do) is perfect for blogging. I really believe in letting the writing speak to who you are and what is important to you. Then, if you are lucky, others will feel the same. Thanks Jenn!

    • I love the way you put it, Kim. “Letting the writing speak to who you are”. That’s great! I really think that’s such a key point to blogging. There are so many blogs out there and the best way to differentiate yourself is to BE yourself!
      Thanks again for your comments!

  2. “Write like you’re talking to someone over lunch.” Truly great advice! Although I don’t blog nearly as often as I should; I’m definitely trying to take this approach, become more comfortable, and post more often. Thanks for the great tips, Jenn.

  3. Hi Jenn,

    I know a lot of people who struggle with this issue. Writing is a skill that can be improved with work and practice, but at the end of the day, some people are just more gifted in this area than others.

    What I’ve often suggested to people is that they find other methods of communication that they are more comfortable with, such as video, imagery, audio, presentations, etc, and then make those their focus. It doesn’t mean they should stop writing completely, but that they should play to their strengths and minimize the areas that are unpleasant or don’t come naturally. Depending on your industry and your readership, not everyone may be able to write with a conversational tone.

    • Thanks for your comments, Susan! You bring up very valid points that there are other options besides actually “writing” a blog that many people may feel more comfortable with. And to that end, many people prefer to listen to podcasts or videos rather than read blogs.
      So, yes, when an alternative is available or practical, we should definitely consider options besides writing a blog. However, sometimes these options aren’t the most viable solution, and a traditional written blog is the preferred means of communication. For these instances, I hope that people can find help in the post I’ve written here.

Leave a Reply

