Please, Stop Linking Your Social Media Sites!

This post has been moved to: http://jennstrends.com/please-stop-linking-your-social-media-sites/

I realize that in social media there are few set rules. Everyone has their own perceptions of what is right and what is wrong. So when it comes to linking your Facebook and Twitter accounts, or your Instagram and Facebook accounts, some people say “Yes!” while others scream “No!”. If the title didn’t give it away, I’m one of the latter category. While I don’t propose this post to be a rant, per se, here are my thoughts…

Please, please, please STOP linking your accounts!

There are a multitude of reasons why I feel this way and I will attempt to explain them here in a way that I hope opens your eyes to my perspective. You may disagree with me – that’s fine. There’s a section for comments at the end and I welcome your perspective.

A little disclaimer before I start: If you are a less frequent user of a certain platform, then maybe linking your accounts works for you and helps generate additional traffic. If this is you, great! And you might not want to read any further. However, if you are a heavy user of various social media platforms, please read on.

Here goes!

Chances are that if I like you or your brand, I will follow you across more than one platform. So if I follow you on all these sites and you post the SAME information on each and every site, why should I continue to follow you on each site? In this case, I’ll just follow you on Facebook so that I can flip over your posts quickly in my feed. You need to give people a reason to follow you on more than one site! It’s all about that exclusivity thing – when I see something that you’ve only shared on Twitter, it makes me part of that elite group: better than all those Facebook followers, and more in the know than your Instagram followers. Everyone likes to feel like they have some special advantage and unique posts on each site let your fans feel a little more special.

You can read the rest of this post at: http://jennstrends.com/please-stop-linking-your-social-media-sites/

20 thoughts on “Please, Stop Linking Your Social Media Sites!

  1. I definitely see your point Jenn. I am probably guilty of posting across my sites, but I rarely post the same info to all my sites precisely for the reason you mention – they do not all have the same audience!

    However, I will be scrutinizing my posts more closely now for sure since what you say makes sense and posting accordingly.

    • Kim, I think you generally do a great job. Even when you share the same “content” you typically alter the way in which you format the information or context. And this is great!
      I am glad that this post got you thinking about it though. Sometimes we all need a little reminder of what we’re doing right!

  2. Jenn, Great post and I couldn’t agree with you more! Content should be tailored to the audience receiving it. Auto posting to all your social sites fills up feeds – which eventually means that people will stop following the offender.

  3. I find that more people follow me on Twitter than they do on FB.. Considering that I have over 10K followers on twitter and significantly less than that between my combined blog page and also my personal page I find it useful to link it because certain things go straight to my FB blog page.
    I also post things to linkedin and make careful use of things there I want to tweet since many would not see that post if they were not connected to me on linkedin.. and other things I just leave only on linkedin.
    Ditto with Pinterest. I have specific groups for specific items and while some might be following me– because of the curation, I choose where the post goes and thus people can sift through my boards and see what it is they might want to see. Social media and digital marketing trends has it’s own board and other fluffier topics have their own niche as well.

    • I think that’s good Stevie! Obviously you use Twitter a lot and that’s where you get the traffic. Of course you want to share that information to other sites so that people can find you and the great things you’re sharing. It’s worth noting that you don’t just take one post on Twitter and share it to all sites. You still add independent posts to Facebook, Pinterest, etc. And you’re not sharing “every” post to the other sites. And that’s good.
      Everyone has their own social media goals and strategies. And you have to find what works for you. If your posting options are driving traffic and are successful for you, then keep on doing it!
      And keep on bringing those great posts! I always enjoying seeing your articles 🙂

  4. This post has made me address some issues that I have already been thinking about but haven’t acted on. I just “unlinked” a couple of accounts based on this article. Thanks. Keep the thought provoking posts coming.

    • Thanks Darcy! I’m glad it motivated you to move forward with your social media strategy. I hope you find it helps you drive more traffic and success to the business.
      And by the way, you were never a guilty of major infractions in this department! 😉

  5. Wow, I just got busted! I’m definitely going to have to rethink my social media strategy now (or actually get a strategy!). Sometimes I just get so excited and start sharing it across all platforms! But I think you’re right, there is a better way to use each social network for what it was designed for, way more effective that way too! Great post! 🙂

    • Sorry Josh! Didn’t mean to catch you red-handed 😉
      But glad that it made you look at your strategy – or get you thinking about creating one altogether! On that note, yes, you need a strategy. You need to determine the purpose of each platform and what you hope to achieve. Once you have that down (and realize that this can be a moving target), it will help you determine what to post to each site.
      For example, I share my blog post (just like this one) to multiple sites every day a new one goes live. But I put different intro blurbs on each site, tailored to the type of audience I have on each site. Or if I’m sharing a bunch of photos on Instagram, I’ll share ONE to Facebook and tell my audience to come see over on Instagram for the rest of the photos.
      Find ways to share the same general “content” across your sites, but make it specific to each audience. I’m sure you’ll see an improvement in your engagement, and your followers will go up as well.

    • Christy, you definitely don’t overshare linked content! Yes, you share your blogs and whatnot across your multiple sites but you don’t have to worry about the linked content. I think you’re doing a great job with your Facebook page and it’s not full of your Tweets or other culprits that I’m talking about in this article.

  6. Great point, well made. I like to think I’m not overly guilty of cross posting (a few slip through I know. My main sharing place is Twitter, and I’m about as prolific as you. On facebook – marketing goes to my page, I don’t share that kinda stuff on personal page at all… as for linkedIn and Google – not a lot really just great stuff i share from within.

    You follow me on most, if not all of them, so I guess if I’m wrong you’ll tell me… least hope you will!

    • Thanks for the comments Liza. As I said on G+, you are definitely not guilty of this infraction! Sharing the same content across sites is fine, and even that you keep to a normal range. And I don’t think I’ve ever seen you copy your tweets to Facebook, let alone repeatedly. One of the reasons I enjoy following you across multiple platforms is because you do it right – I get something different from you on each site and each one is valuable to our connection! Keep up the good work 🙂

  7. Jenn I agree with you on some points and respectively disagree on others. I share my blog posts across all my main social media sites (Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Google + and Pinterest) I find my followers on those mediums are interested in those posts. Having said that, when it comes to sharing articles I read or tips O want to give I post them on the social media medium(s) I believe they will be best served on. Now my biggest pet peeve is seeing a double tweet, one posted through Hootesuite and then one immediately following from Facebook. Do these people ever read their own feeds?!?

    • Thank you for your comments Barbara. To be clear, I agree with you about sharing blog posts or other key posts across multiple sites. It is absolutely fine to share the same “content” across more than one site, just make sure to tailor the message on each site. For example, I put a different intro blurb on G+ for each blog post than I do on Facebook. Or if I post a bunch of photos to Instagram, I will share only one to Twitter, not all of them.
      Like you said, the double posting or when every tweet is shared to Facebook all the time, that’s the linking that I’m talking about here. And yes, I also wonder if these people every read their own feeds!

  8. Yes I get annoyed when I have to sort through links and get sent here and there, and I just realize that I do the same thing. I have just unlinked my fb page from twitter! 🙂

    • Good for you Arelis! You can always encourage your FB followers to join you on Twitter as well and increase those number of followers (or vice versa) now that they’re not linked anymore. I hope you enjoy the freedom that comes from having your sites separated.

  9. Pingback: How To Get Started On Instagram | Jenn's Trends

  10. Pingback: How To Get Started On Instagram - Jenn's Trends

Leave a Reply

